Packaging

Packaging products has put me in a bit of a dilemma. On the one hand, I want my products to look indulgent, luxurious, a little fancy. On the other…I don’t like wasting materials on packaging. I looked at a lot of different options, and I think I found a general look that I’m happy with. It can also be updated when the urge strikes me. I love the look of glossy bags with handles, but I can’t do it. It’s too wasteful. So I chose basic recycled Kraft bags with paper handles, with a single sheet of tissue paper for a pop of color. I can change the tissue paper with the seasons, if I like. Instead of fancy truffle boxes, I went with compostable clear cellophane bags. Simple, but they still show off what’s inside. Even better, they will accommodate biscotti, chocolates, bath bombs…anything that isn’t jam or knitting. I made basic business cards as my “labels” and I’m securing them to jars and bags with grosgrain ribbon. I also have an array of sheer organza ribbon in lovely colors for “gift packaging.” I’m going for “eco-friendly luxury” as my “look,” I suppose. Feedback/suggestions always welcome – this is my starting point.

About Allison Ketchell

Writer and editor, unpredictable cook, knitter, mom to cats, dogs, guinea pigs, and humans, she/her 🏳️‍🌈
This entry was posted in bits of bliss. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Packaging

  1. GBK Gwyneth says:

    Love it! And appreciate the effort too. I have always loved recycled newsprint as gift wrap and twine as “ribbon”. But I still cringe at even that waste … So frustrating. I remember the joy of nicely wrapped gifts, but would love to avoid anything that is going to simply end up in a landfill.

    Love your ideas!

  2. Thank you! I agonize over packaging, too. Plain Kraft bags are useful – they can be re-used as gift bags (I keep bags with handles for delivering treats to neighbors). I couldn’t resist the one sheet of colored tissue paper, though 🙂

  3. Lalah Manly says:

    Love your intentionality!

    • Maya says:

      Love it! And aeprpciate the effort too. I have always loved recycled newsprint as gift wrap and twine as “ribbon”. But I still cringe at even that waste … So frustrating. I remember the joy of nicely wrapped gifts, but would love to avoid anything that is going to simply end up in a landfill.Love your ideas!

Leave a comment